LibGuides: The chemistry of global warming: Air and the Atmosphere

Print resources in the Milne Library

Encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other "reference" materials are very important for finding facts and data, and for understanding vocabulary and background concepts. Books with call numbers are available in the library; books marked (Online) are available digitally by clicking the title link.

Milne Library resources
Some of the books that might be helpful in understanding the actual chemistry of global warming.

Websites

NOAA (National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration)
NOAA monitors and researches weather and the ocean. They are our major source for weather information, including hurricane and tornado prediction, and work in government programs about climate change.
NOAA Education Resources
Educational materials on climate, air, and sea. Lots of great images, diagrams, and explanations are linked from this page.
NASA's Earth Observatory
Amazing satellite images of the earth. See hurricanes, fires, eruptions, etc. from space, plus global maps of cloud cover, rainfall, snowfall, heat radiation, and more.

To help you create proper citations

Noodletools
Set up your Noodletools account using your Google credentials and then save your research projects and citations all in one place!
myBib
Alternative to Easybib!
How to cite a cat video!
Purdue's OWL citation help
Purdue University's Online Writing Lab; help with MLA 8 citations specifically and academic writing in general.

MLA Handbook by The Modern Language Association of America
ISBN: 9781603292627
Publication Date: 2016-04-01
The Modern Language Association, the authority on research and writing, takes a fresh look at documenting sources in the eighth edition of the MLA Handbook. Works are published today in a dizzying range of formats. A book, for example, may be read in print, online, or as an e-book--or perhaps listened to in an audio version. On the Web, modes of publication are regularly invented, combined, and modified. MLA 8 recommends a universal set of guidelines.
Plagiarism by Barry Gilmore
ISBN: 9780325026435
Publication Date: 2009-02-05
Helps students to understand what exactly plagiarism is, how it happens, and how to avoid it,

Especially useful databases

Issues and Controversies This link opens in a new window
Issues & Controversies aims to provide the most accurate, accessible, and authoritative content available and present arguments on both sides of every issue in a clear, balanced, and unbiased manner.
Opposing Viewpoints In Context This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints in Context supports virtually any curricular need. Its informed, differing views present each side of an issue and help students develop critical thinking skills and draw their own conclusions. Exclusive Viewpoint pages bring balance and perspective to every controversy using targeted arguments from recognized subject-matter experts and top journalistic sources.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Digital library with access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines
"Advanced Search" will let the user select "Books" for format if so desired.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
New York Times Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
A database focused on environmental issues; some full text, some indexing and abstracting.
Topicsearch This link opens in a new window
Full text for over 150,961 articles from 475 diverse sources including international and regional newspapers, EBSCO's unparalleled collection of periodicals, biographies, public opinion polls, book reviews, pamphlets, and government information.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Resource covering national & international newspapers
Health source - consumer edition This link opens in a new window
This database is the richest collection of consumer health information available to libraries worldwide, providing information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Health Source: Consumer Edition provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines.
Masterfile Premier
Full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals with full-text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also contains full text for nearly 500 reference books and over 164,400 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 592,000 photos, maps & flags. This database is updated daily via EBSCOhost.
MAS Ultra - School edition
Designed specifically for high school libraries, this database contains full text for nearly 500 popular, high school magazines. MAS Ultra – School Edition also provides more than 360 full text reference books, 85,670 biographies, over 107,000 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of over 510,000 photos, maps & flags, color PDFs and expanded full text backfiles (back to 1975) for key magazines.
PowerSearch
Authoritative periodicals, scholarly journals, newspapers, newspapers, and reference content.