LibGuides: The chemistry of global warming: Home

Databases

Opposing Viewpoints In Context This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints in Context supports virtually any curricular need. Its informed, differing views present each side of an issue and help students develop critical thinking skills and draw their own conclusions. Exclusive Viewpoint pages bring balance and perspective to every controversy using targeted arguments from recognized subject-matter experts and top journalistic sources.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
A database focused on environmental issues; some full text, some indexing and abstracting.
Health source - consumer edition This link opens in a new window
This database is the richest collection of consumer health information available to libraries worldwide, providing information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Health Source: Consumer Edition provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines.
New York Times Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Masterfile Premier
Full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals with full-text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also contains full text for nearly 500 reference books and over 164,400 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 592,000 photos, maps & flags. This database is updated daily via EBSCOhost.
PowerSearch
Authoritative periodicals, scholarly journals, newspapers and reference content. This database can be filtered to provide only "peer-reviewed" artilces.

Useful websites

Print resources in the Milne Library

Milne Library resources
Some books that could be helpful in understanding the actual chemistry of global warming.

You Are Here by Thomas M. Kostigen
ISBN: 0061580376
Publication Date: 2010-01-19
"A passionate and heartfelt call to care." --Bruce Feiler,New York Times bestselling author of Walking the Bible and America's Prophet InYou Are Here, Thomas Kostigen, the New York Times bestselling co-author of The Green Book, takes us to the most extreme environmental areas on the planet to show how what we do from the comfort of our own home affects people, places, and things everywhere. A timely, much-needed alarm that recalls Al Gore's An Inconvenient Truth combined with a compelling travel narrative reminiscent of Anthony Bourdain with straight ahead Anderson Cooper-like reporting, You Are Here is "an intriguing and insightful account that deserves to be read by everyone" (Mark Plotkin, Time Magazine Hero for the Planet).

Louisa Burdette

Email Me

To help you create proper citations

Noodletools
Set up your Noodletools account using your Google credentials and then save your research projects and citations all in one place!
myBib
Alternative to Easybib!
How to cite a cat video!
Purdue's OWL citation help
Purdue University's Online Writing Lab; help with MLA 8 citations specifically and academic writing in general.

MLA Handbook by The Modern Language Association of America
ISBN: 9781603292627
Publication Date: 2016-04-01
The Modern Language Association, the authority on research and writing, takes a fresh look at documenting sources in the eighth edition of the MLA Handbook. Works are published today in a dizzying range of formats. A book, for example, may be read in print, online, or as an e-book--or perhaps listened to in an audio version. On the Web, modes of publication are regularly invented, combined, and modified. MLA 8 recommends a universal set of guidelines.
Plagiarism by Barry Gilmore
ISBN: 9780325026435
Publication Date: 2009-02-05
Helps students to understand what exactly plagiarism is, how it happens, and how to avoid it,